Business Day at the Legislature 2/20/2020

Special Events


  • Share:
January 31, 2020
For Immediate Release

South Dakota Chamber of Commerce and Industry
PO Box 190

Pierre, SD  57501
South Dakota Chamber's Business Day at the Legislature

David Owen, President of the South Dakota Chamber of Commerce and Industry, announces that this year's  Business Day at the Legislature and South Dakota Chamber Annual Meeting will be Thursday, February 20, 2020, at the Ramkota Hotel and Conference Center in Pierre. 
This annual event is time well spent to stay informed of trending business related legislative issues, vote your opinions during Business Caucus and network with business and community peers from across the state.  Business Day also provides the opportunity to talk with your district legislators, members of the Governor's team and constitutional officers.
The condensed agenda provides an informative, interesting event that allows for active participation while minimizing time away from work.  The event runs from 1:30 - 7 PM and the schedule includes a legislative update and Business Caucus where attendees votes their opinions on legislative issues, with the combined results delivered to legislators.  
Afternoon time at the Capitol will be highlighted by a special presentation based on issues being debated at the time of the event. The evening ends with an heavy hors d'ouevres reception that includes a manufacturer's digital showcase of jobs, innovation and products produced in South Dakota, along with a program featuring a recap of the day, award presentations and a special message from Bob Sutton, President and CEO of Avera Health and a member South Dakota Chamber Board of Directors.
This year's awards will be presented to:
  • Former Governor Dennis Daugaard, Distinguished Legislative Service
  • Al Kurtenbach, Daktronics, Inc., Business Legislative Advocate
  • Jerry Wheeler, retired Executive Director, South Dakota Retailers Association
All are expected to attend.
Business Day is sponsored by First PREMIER Bank/PREMIER Bankcard; Microsoft; Black Hills Energy; Fredrikson & Byron Government Relations; Midco; NorthWestern Energy; Pfizer; Daktronics and Lawrence & Schiller.
The reception is sponsored by many local economic development offices and legislator attendance is sponsored by many local chambers of commerce.  Registration information is available online at  Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for updated messages.
Jafar Karim, Black Hills Energy, Rapid City, and Dawn Morris, Morris, Inc., Fort Pierre, are co-chairs of the Business Day event. 


Mary Anne Boyd, VP Program Services, (605) 260-8215
South Dakota Website Design and Development